All About the Future

I try to live in the moment as much as I can, but some times you’re forced to stare the future straight in the face. Like when I caught the bouquet at the wedding we went to this weekend. I take that stuff as a joke, but suddenly there were 10 text messages from certain family members making it clear they were expecting an announcement soon; I realized some people don’t. Sorry guys. Not anytime soon.

Kidding, Guys! Except about the flowers. Those I caught, kept, and they’re pretty.

Sunday marked 7 weeks until the Newport Marathon and I realized I’m getting closer and closer but not feeling much stronger. Jim went for his first training run last week. 6 miles in 47 minutes. Not bad for a first time out. I’m still cruising along at my 10:20/mi without getting any faster or slower. Some days I feel like I’m flying, other days my legs feel like lead, but I’m always hitting 10:20 give or take :10.

This morning I managed to pull myself out of bed at 5:45 to get in a couple miles before work. I really want to get back in the habit of morning workouts. Yesterday I woke up after staying in bed until the last possible minute and walked outside to 58degrees and crisp dry air. I died inside. As much as I love summer, running in heat and humidity takes a serious toll. Knowing I missed the first fall morning of the season felt worse than a DNF. There is nothing quite like Fall running, and I’m so looking forward to the next couple months of it.

I promised myself that today would mark the start of morning workouts. The alarm went off at 5:45 and I shot up with more enthusiasm than I’ve had in a while. Fall running! Cool breezes, dry air, sweating a normal amount! I laced up, ran down the stairs, opened the door and – Whack! I probably should have checked the forecast before getting myself all excited for weather that didn’t actually exist. In fact, this morning was exactly the opposite of what I was expecting. Unless Fall suddenly means 78 and 80% humidity. I figured I’d made it that far, may as well work out anyways.

I hit up the cemetery and felt surprisingly strong for the first song on my playlist. It’s a newbie and I’m kind of in love with it. I suggest you check it out.

If you watch HBO you have heard this song.

I went with my new routine of run 3 songs at MGP, walk 1 min, run the rest of that song and the next 3 at MGP. I’m still really nervous to re-tweak my knee so close to race day, and with Boston training quickly approaching after that. I got my confirmation yesterday that I’m officially entered into the 2013 race, and that is crazy to me. One, that a date that seemed like forever a few months ago snuck up so quickly, and two- I’m agreeing to 6am wake ups on Saturday mornings all winter again. Eep.

This morning I was slower than I would have liked for the second mile, but I’m still taking the fact that I started a new routine as a win. Small victories still count- right?

Do you work out in the mornings? How long did it take you to get used to it? I know that whole 28 days to make or break a habit thing, but I can’t be tired 27 days in a row!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

