Favorite Things Friday: Everyone Needs a Vice

I’m sure you’ve noticed, but it’s hot. So hot in fact that I couldn’t run the past two days because my Asthma decided to come out to play in the heat when I attempted 2 miles at 6am yesterday. About a half mile in I remembered this is the same reason I had to drop out of Boston, and until I have these flare ups totally under control I should stick to running in temperatures less than 85 degrees. Common sense, you win this time…

After my 2 miller on Tuesday night my dad called and I went to see him and my grandparents. It was his birthday on Monday, so when I arrived there was cake. Lots of left-over cake. So I did what any responsible, healthy, marathon training 26 year old woman would do: I had cake for dinner. Chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting.  It was delicious.

My dad lives for sweets. He could eat bags of jelly beans for every meal and be a perfectly happy man. He also smokes, which I’m not a fan of. Aside from the iPod Nano pre loaded with some of his favorite tunes, I also got him an electronic cigarette for his birthday. Just to try. He has always said everyone has a vice and this might be his, but he knows it’s killing him so he’s just going to stick with the jelly beans as best he can. The electronic cigarette appears to be helping. If you know a smoker, I highly suggest this as a gift.

But asking him to give up one of his vices got me thinking about what mine are. Some are not so great for me, others are just flat out terrible. Vices, guilty pleasures, whatever you want to call them- here they are…

Fried Anything with Cheese:  Mozzarella sticks, Cheesecake Factory Fried Mac and Cheese, Chicken Parm, Nachos. If it’s fried, cheesy and gooey I’m going to eat it and love every single bite of it. I’ll run an extra 3 miles and do another spin class to try to compensate, but it will be worth every sweaty minute for that delicious grilled cheese covered in truffle oil.

A heart attack on a plate. A delicious, wonderful heart attack.

The Bachelorette: I am not usually a reality show love, or even watcher. I’ll catch some Real Housewives of some city or another here and there, enough that I recognized Ramona when I met her last summer; but other than that I like to stick to my scripted shows.

She was a surprisingly nice Housewife

However, this season of the Bachelorette has me drinking my Pinot while sitting on the couch ready to cry/yell/be super girly. You can’t help but love this seasons Bachelorette Emily, who has the saddest but most inspirational back-story ever. She lost the love of her life in a plane crash only to find out she was pregnant with their child a week later? Come on. You can’t make that stuff up. And now she has a super sexy, kind of dorky, tall and dark race car driver (sounds like someone I know) in love with her and making out with her in exotic locations? I’m glued. I can’t help it. And in case you can’t tell, I’m certainly Team Arie.

Emily Giffin Books: If you haven’t read “Something Borrowed” I highly suggest it. I read it in a day a couple years ago, and have read every other book of hers in no longer than 36 hours. They’re not the most insightful or thought provoking pieces of literature you’ll ever come across but they’ll keep you entertained for sure.

Sunshine: I use sunblock, but I also love being outside all day every day all summer long. I’m sure the SPF 50 can’t protect little English/Irish me from everything, but I also refuse to stay indoors or under big hats out of fear. I take reasonable precaution. I know I should do more, and I’m working on it. I just can’t help it.

See. That’s me. With sunblock. Working on it…

It’s supposed to rain this afternoon, but it’s 80 and sunny I’ll weekend. I’ll be on the beach or by the pool. And running 5 miles before it heats up tomorrow. Enjoy your weekends!

What are your vices? Are they how you ended up running in the first place?

Leave a Reply

