An Early Rainy Run

They always say you should train in every condition because you can’t predict the weather on race day. I’m not quite sure who “they” are or how “they “ decided on this, but it’s sound training advice in my mind. Sometimes you don’t have the ability to train for the weather you’ll be racing in (Boston 2012 anyone?) and sometimes it’s just not smart to train in whatever is going on outside. Blizzards + run = no. Not a good idea. Plow drivers will hate you.

 

This will stop me from running outside.

But this morning I decided I was not letting the rain stop me anymore and out the door I went. That’s right. This morning. At 6am. I finally broke my sleeping in funk.

I think last nights spin class motivated me to get out the door for some more endorphins this morning. I don’t know if you’ve tried it at all, but I’m obsessed with spin lately. Every few months I would give a class a try and nearly die halfway through and think it just wasn’t for me. Then a few weeks ago the idea suddenly seemed super appealing as a good way to keep cardio up while my IT bad was taking it’s break. Since then, I’m all in. Love.

After my spin induced endorphin rush last night, getting up at 6am this morning didn’t seem so bad. I even woke up a few minutes early to just enjoy laying there for a few minutes. I looked out the window, and no rain. Yes, the universe was excited for me to hit the pavement today, there was no doubt about it. A few easy miles, then work. It was flawless.

Well, flawless until I hit mile 2 of 3 and the rain decided to come back. But you know what? I didn’t even mind. It wasn’t pouring, it was a little refreshing and it was enough of a motivator to get me to kick up the pace for the last mile. Negative split? Don’t mind if I do. It was nice to feel fully recovered from Providence and look forward to a full training schedule for Jamestown. And Newport.

Speaking of, has anyone out there ever trained for a full and a half at the same time? Looking for some pointers there.

Anyways, that’s my Wednesday. Spin/Muscle tone class tonight, which is my favorite. It’s 6 minutes on the spin bike, followed by 6 minutes of circuit training for an hour. I will want to puke by the end. It will be amazing.

How’s everyone else’s week going? Any great runs? New classes?

Leave a Reply

