Favorite Things Friday: Things That Keep Me Healthy

First things first this Favorite Things Friday people. Today is exactly ONE MONTH until the Boston Marathon. One month. 4 weeks from Monday. Holy crap holy crap holy crap. Being one month out, that means today brings some serious changes. First…

One long run left before the taper. This week is 12 miles. Next weekend is the 21 miler. Then it’s a whole lot of taper before the big day. I’m thankful I’ve already decided on a fall marathon so I can take a month of running whatever feels right and then I can jump into a new training plan. I need my plans people.

Excited to run this tomorrow

I have eaten healthy for 5 days in a row. Well, sort of healthy. All of my meals have been healthy, but I’ve also eaten dessert every night. Not something I normally do, but I’ve been craving it so I haven’t deprived myself. When mom makes fudge cake, who am I to say no? it would hurt her feelings. I tell her it would, and she encourages the eating.

It’s officially very spring like, and the forecast has an 80 degree day next week. This has me even more concerned about it being unusually hot for the race. There’s nothing I can do to control the weather, so I’m just preparing myself as best I can. Like staring at the Weather Channel for at least 30 minutes every day as if it will suddenly start offering “45-Day Forecast”s. This isn’t likely. But I like to think someone will have some insight and let me know. No? Not how it works? Dang.

Hey 75, you look nice. Stay around for a while. Like, forever.

The month prior to race day is all about being healthy. Listen to my body. Run. Cross train. Sleep. Lots of water. Lots of Netflix to take my mind off of the fact that I’m going to be running a very challenging 26.2 in front of everyone I know. And in case you were wondering, these are my favorite healthy things…

SteamFresh Veggies: I love veggies. I don’t love peeling, washing, steaming and picking. Steam bags take care of that for me. It’s wonderful. Illusive fresh tasting, good for me veggies, no more! I will eat you every night because all I have to do is throw you into the microwave for 6 minutes. Amazing.

Gym Classes: Some gyms don’t offer classes, and I think that’s really sad. Really, really sad. Sometimes you need to change you workout up a little, and trying out a new class that’s already included in the price of membership is exactly what I need.

Quinoa: It’s like macaroni, but healthier. I can’t eat pasta every day. But I can eat quinoa on days I can’t. It makes the carb withdrawls easier.

Remembering that my health is a gift: Running for Children’s Hospital has reminded me how lucky I truly am to be able to even have the ability to walk, nevermind run. To hear the stories from week to week about the children my teammates are running in honor of is truly humbling. So I get sore? I should be grateful to know what a good workout feels like. So often we are hard on ourselves because of a bad split, or curse ourselves out because we walked for 5  min at mile 17 because we cramped up. So what? We have the gift to be out there in the first place. A lot of people don’t. I try to keep that in mind, and get out there every day to be sure I’m making the most of it.

Happy Friday everyone! What keeps you healthy?

Leave a Reply

