Rude People Stink

Let me start this whole thing off by saying when people make a resolution to get healthy and be more active, I think it’s great. Honestly, I really do. The Biggest Loser is one of my favorite shows for this very reason.

 

Ok, he might be a reason too.

Ok, now that we’ve made that clear, last night was my first day at the gym since the New Year kicked off. Yes, I expected it to be busy. Yes, I expected that there would be a learning call for some with proper gym etiquette. But nothing could have prepared me for what I witnessed.

 

I waited until 7:30 to go to the gym hoping I would miss the New Years crowd. That did not work out as planned. There was not an available treadmill in sight, new or old.

Busy cadio section! Yay for new runners!

Now it’s kind of an unspoken rule at my gym that the new treadmills that simulate hill training and can be connected to Nike+ are for those whole actually use these features. The older treadmills are still perfectly fine, have TV, sound and all that jazz; and you can still walk your flat 3.5MPH pace on them. Five of the six new treadmills were being occupied by people walking with no incline. That’s fine, maybe all the older ones were taken, or they didn’t know about this “unspoken rule”. Perfectly acceptable. What happened next was not.

 

I did my abs, arms and stretching, and during this time someone got off of trusty treadmill #5 (the treadmills were all recently renumbered, turning my old #17 into #5). I noticed a woman get off of the treadmill and not return to wipe it down. EWWWWW. I kept an eye out hoping they would return, but after 10 minutes I grabbed some sanitizer and some paper towels and headed on over. This is what I found.

 

I didn't want to be too obvious taking the pic, but you get about 1/2 the damage in this photo.

That’s right. Bottles, paper and trash still sitting on the treadmill.  Is it really that hard to clean up after yourself? Really? Wishfully thinking, I moved the water bottles to the older treadmill next to me, hoping that maybe this person just took a shower, realized they forgot these items and would return for them shortly; and started my workout. A mile in, I really wasn’t feeling it. My legs felt like lead, my breathing got heavy, and the love of the run just wasn’t there. I wish I could say that was the worst part of the evening.

 

Post run I walked into the locker room and the unthinkable happened. Out of nowhere, a woman pulled my headphone out of my ear. That’s right. No attempt to get my attention otherwise, just came up next to me and pulled out the headphone. Below is my transcript of the exchange.

 

Rude Woman: “What time is Kohls open until tonight?”

Me (in complete shock and confusion): “I’m not sure, sorry”

RW: “You can’t just tell me what time you think it’s open until? I really need to pick some stuff up!”

Me: “I don’t go there very often, I’m really not sure. Sorry.”

RW: “I don’t see why you can’t just give me a guess”. (Storms off).

 

I was shocked. First, in what universe is it OK to pull someone’s headphone out of their ear? Second, I didn’t realize I was wearing a Kohl’s employee nametag and obviously would have known the store hours. My apologies. I grabbed my gym bag, prayed to the running gods for non frigid weather to return so I can get back to the pavement on my own, and headed out of the locker room.

 

Walking past the cardio section on my way out, what did I see? The crazy Kohl’s woman picking up her water bottles off of the treadmill (45+ min after she left them) saying to her friend “Who moved my things? I would never touch someone’s things without asking, I can’t believe that.”

 

Looks like it’s going to be a long January at the gym…

 

Have you ever had a rude experience at the gym? How did you handle it? I just went home and ate some wheat thins and hummus, but I’m sure there has to be a better way!

One thought on “Rude People Stink

  1. OMG, there are so many things wrong with this story, it’s hard to know where to begin! This is outrageous on so many levels!!!! I think the one that takes the cake is the exchange in the locker room…I would’ve gone into shock! And those treadmills sound awesome….and I don’t even really like treadmills 🙂

Leave a Reply

