15 Days Down, 109 To Go!

I’m in full-fledged training mode. I have my schedule, I have my planner, Vaseline is on standby and I’m feeling good. Oh, then week 2 hit and I caught the sinus/respiratory infection of the year. Awesome timing. But that was last week, and this is this week. I’m still coughing up things I don’t care to mention, but I’m back at it and I feel a million times better. Sorry for the lull in blogging it was the holidays. You understand, right? As usual, there was lots of food, lots of family, and this year a diamond and amethyst encrusted penguin. Best. Gift. Ever.

Seriously? He managed to combine diamonds and penguins. If that's not love I don't know what is.

After all the cheese, cookies, candy and all other forms of delicious holiday decadence; I’m officially putting myself on a diet. There’s no way around it. You are what you eat, which right now makes me some form of cheese wrapped in bacon I’m sure. Really, I’m healthy. I promise. But none of this can be good for training and getting back to the schedule this week I could feel the grease sweating out of me. And it felt amazing.

Jim left for Florida to work for 3 months on Sunday, so obviously Monday called for endorphins. Lots of endorphins. So after my 2 mile “trial run” back to training, I decided to jog my little butt back into the gym to go to hot yoga. Hot yoga is my favorite cross training. Do it right and it honestly feels like a massage when you’re super tight from the high impact of running. Doesn’t hurt that my instructor is also one of the most inspirational people I’ve ever come across in my life, and when I need a good pick me up I look no further than Chris (forward to 3:05) to sweat it out of me. The woman is a miracle worker. I also indulged in a little retail therapy and bought the best yoga tank I’ve ever come across.

I look that elegant when I'm sweating out grease. I swear.

New workout clothes always make it a little easier to go to the gym. Thanks lululemon. I can forgive you now for the damage you do to my bank account on a regular basis. We’re cool.

After sweating out the fried macaroni and cheese, 3 glasses of sangria and cupcake I had for lunch Monday (did I not mention those?); I felt like a new woman. I don’t think my head was down for more than 5 minutes before I was out like a light, and I woke up Tuesday with one thought in mind: I want to RUN. And that’s what I did. I ran 3 of the most painless, refreshing and endorphin packed miles I’ve ever run in my life. So with this newly refreshed attitude, I am back on the training schedule. 109 days until Boston, I’m ready to do this. And it couldn’t feel better.

Leave a Reply

